What’s Your Favourite Christmas Book?

Father Christmas

Mine is Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs.  I just have to see the cover and it makes me smile, it makes me excited and nostalgic with just one glance.  I’ve read it every Christmas Eve before I go to sleep since I was about 10 – I don’t let myself read it anymore than that as I want to keep it special!

I read a wonderful article about the writing of Father Christmas in the Guardian newspaper recently, have a look – http://www.theguardian.com/culture/2014/dec/16/how-i-made-father-christmas-by-raymond-briggs .

One reason I love the books as because of how real the character of Father Christmas is, I found it quite moving to read that Briggs found inspiration for the character from his own father.  I was also interested that Briggs says he wasn’t particularly aiming the book at children.  This rings true to me as I certainly enjoy it just as much now as I did when I was a child.

Looking forward to Christmas Eve when I read it again!

AnotherHow_the_Grinch_Stole_Christmas_cover Christmas favourite is The Snowman by Raymond Briggs.  I’ve never really liked this one, I can appreciate the pictures are beautiful but when I first read it as a child I felt that the snowman was rather creepy and frightening – that feeling has never quite gone away!  How the Grinch Stole Christmas is a famous seasonal classic I’ve never actually read, I’ve seen the film though which was great – I’d be interest to hear how people think it compares to the book.  The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is another book I’ve always associated with Christmas, the main focus of the book isn’t Christmas but all the ice and snow of Narnia always made me feel festive.

Hercule_Poirot's_Christmas

Adult Christmas stories I love are Hercule Poirot’s Christmas and the Sherlock Holmes story The Blue Carbuncle.  I don’t read them every year but have re-read them a few times.  For about 12 years I’ve had the tradition of watching the ITV adaptation of The Blue Carbuncle with Jeremy Brett on Christmas morning while I have breakfast and before we open our presents.

That’s about it for my favourite Christmas books, I probably need to read some more (I’ve never even read A Christmas Carol).  I love to hear some recommendations or hear what part books play in your Christmas.

Happy Christmas!

Zoe

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Christmas, reading

Leave a Reply

