Book Review – Matilda by Roald Dahl

This is one of my childhood favourites (I’m not going to say exactly how long ago that was!) and it’s still very popular today.  It’s recently been turned into a hit West End Musical.

Matilda letters

I think I liked it so much partly because Matilda had so much against her but turned out to have a special gift.  Being a child can make you feel very powerless sometimes, especially when  parents are being mean, teachers or classmates nasty.  There’s nothing you can do, you just have to keep your head down and follow the rules – but in this story the child does find themselves with power!  It’s a fantasy I think many of us wish we could have played out, unfortunately I was never as clever as Matilda.  It’s also such a great book because of how Matilda uses her wonderful local library!

Being a child isn't always fun!

Being a child isn’t always fun!

That’s enough from me, here’s what some of the young readers from Brent Libraries thought of the book;

“This in the best book because it is very rare to know hard things when you are little.  The genre of this book is like a mystery because how did she learnt things that quick?  5/5”

Rheyan

“Matilda is clever.  This is my favourite book because it is enjoyable to read.  Matilda’s parents are rude and always mean to Matilda.  Matilda’s headteacher is strong and she’s furious whenever one of the children does something wrong.  I recommend this book for big children because it’s good entertainment for kids.  5/5”

Anastasia

“Matilda is my best book because it is very interesting and Matilda’s parents are sometimes funny and also Mrs Trunchbull is funny.  This is the best book I have read and I feel like I want to read the book forever!”

Siantel

“Matilda is a stunning book about a girl who is really smart for her age but her parents, who are rich, don’t care about her studies and think she is foolish.  It is a children’s book and is written by a famous author Roald Dahl.  This is the best book in the World and a real page turned. 5/5”

Diza

Matilda“Matilda is a very funny and interesting book, it is the best book I’ve ever read.  I also liked the book because Roald Dahl used a lot of interesting vocabulary when he described Miss Trunchbull.”

Wendy

“Matilda is a very interesting book, it has interesting words that I didn’t know before.  the book was funny and Roald Dahl has a good way of writing.  5/5”

Lillian

“This book is the most mysterious and hilarious book because Matilda is clever , kind and mysterious but can be incredibly powerful.  Miss Trunchbull is powerful too but mean, rude and bossy.  I liked reading this book at night before going to sleep.”

Aubrey

“Matilda is my best because it is funny and Matilda is very interesting.  Roald Dahl is my favourite author.  It is also a page turner that I wouldn’t put down, I would keep on reading it.  5/5”

Joliz

So it’s unanimous 5/5!  What do you think?  Is this one of your childhood favourites?

Zoe

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review, Children's Fiction, Libraries, young reviewers

Leave a Reply

